menudo

A few years back, I ordered menudo from a restaurant and I got a dish that bore no resemblance to the one my mom makes. Apparently, the Mexican menudo is more of a soup; the Puerto Rican menudo is, of course, a boy band in the ’80s that brought us Ricky Martin.

Anyway, the Philippine menudo seems to be closer to this Spanish dish called cocido madrileño. The dishes share some ingredients — pork, chick pea, sausage, potatoes, carrots. but cocido, according to this Spanish blog, also includes some ham bones, beef marrow, cabbage — ingredients our version definitely doesn’t have.

My mom and I made menudo during the weekend. I asked her to teach me how to make this dish again. I’ve seen her make it a dozen times, but I’ve never cooked it on my own. One of the most challenging parts of making this dish is finding pork that’s tender (and just a tiny bit fatty). Also, that initial cooking with vinegar is tricky. You don’t want to make it too sour. The dish came out really, really well and I, of course, brought some back with me. I don’t know about you, but I like menudo with a little bit of patis (fish sauce) on the side. The patis just gives it that extra zing that completes the dining experience.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Betis Boy says:

    that menudo looks good!!! where's the rice? 😀 the first cooking (in vinegar and soy sauce) is called sinkutsa. and i'm looking for the liver? didn't you have any liver? my lola puts carrots, potatoes, green peas and bell peppers too (though sometimes she skips the peas and bell peppers).

    agree about the patis on the side. though there are times i prefer toyo with sili.

    Like

  2. Guagua Girl says:

    oh, there's tons of liver! big chunks of it 🙂 you can see some of it in the “back” of the photo … there are bell peppers but no green peas.

    Like

Leave a Reply

