Chicken caldereta with liver spread

A couple of days ago, a friend posted on Facebook that he made calderetang bibe (stewed duck in spicy tomato sauce). That has got to be one of the best-tasting foods on Earth! Unfortunately, my cousins who are the go-to guys for calderetang bibe have recently migrated to the United States, so it may take some time before I get to taste that dish again, huhuhu. It’s a good thing that for lunch today my mom made the second-best thing: kalderetang manuk (stewed chicken). It will do for now. The secret of a good caldereta is — you guessed it, reno brand liver spread.

Can you believe a small can now costs 17 pesos?! Now, excuse me, I’ll have to look for some pan de sal or some toasted bread to finish the remnants of this can.
2 Comments Add yours

  1. Guagua Girl says:

    I don't think I knew about the liver spread for caldereta … I gotta ask my mom about it 🙂 I don't think I've had duck caldereta in a long while … Miss it.

    Like

  2. Betis Boy says:

    it's actually a short-cut. i think the authentic recipe calls for real chicken liver which is mashed (but sometimes you get the bitter ones), this is the reliable alternative.

    Like

Leave a Reply

