the hearth and heart of homes


it’s far from elegant, and bereft of food styling. but sights like these bring me home. that is my grandparents’ table, where we spent much of our growing up years (literally and figuratively) eating my lola’s food. and this is how it looks like on special occasions (’twas my uncles bday, and these are his photos).

my other home was the other dining table of my grandparents on my father’s side, literally three houses away, where i also spent my growing up years doing… what else, eating. he.he.) you can almost taste the bad, oily food ne? πŸ™‚ too bad i had to go to work in manila today 😦

3 Comments Add yours

  1. claire espina says:

    The pictures remind me of my own childhood. Vats of food were cooked for the birthday of the matriarch of our family. Thanks for sharing and for letting me know these traditions remain alive in other homes.

    Like

  2. Guagua Girl says:

    i love the bandehados! i think every capampangan family has a set of those porcelain “basins.” who needs food styling when you have the most amazing food in front of you πŸ™‚ (in quantities that promise a second, third, fourth helpings if you so desire)

    Like

  3. Betis Boy says:

    atching claire, yup. apparently, with the number of people who “liked” my post on facebook, this is a very common way of serving feasts (a lot of them are capampangan too) πŸ™‚

    but one glaring distinction is that of GG's remark, whose family apparently had PORCELAIN palangganas (ours were just aluminum and i think were utilitarian and not just reserved for serving food). ha.ha. πŸ˜€

    Like

Leave a Reply

