Spot Dessert Bar: Sweets with an Asian flair

You’ve known me long enough to know how much I love dessert. I think I get it from my dad, who grew up in a family whose last name is almost synonymous with sweets in Pampanga. Did you know one of my favorite fairy tales growing up was “Hansel & Gretel”? Because I wanted to visit the witch’s house that is literally made of cake and sweets.

Spot Dessert Bar on the lower east side (St. Mark’s Place) is not, of course, made of sweets, but it IS a house of sweets. It sells cookies, macarons, cupcakes, cakes, bubble teas, ice cream and sorbets AND these amazing, delicious, mouth-watering concoctions called dessert tapas. I’ve been to the place a couple of times and each time we ordered different items syempre.

yuzu eskimo: frozen japanese citrus cream bar
honey buttered toast and condensed milk

This is my favorite: green tea-ramisu — made of green tea mascarpone cream, green tea-soaked ladyfingers, shaved white chocolate and matcha powder dust

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Betis Boy says:

    dessert tapas sounds like a novel concept! and the bread with the condensed milk ftw! did you also dip your fingers in condensed milk as a kid?

    Like

  2. Guagua Girl says:

    When are you coming to visit NYC, Jun? 🙂

    Like

  3. Guagua Girl says:

    Of course, I did! The best part of dessert making is when the adults give the condensed milk cans to the children to “dispose.” My grandmother always makes sure there's enough in each can for all the apos to enjoy 🙂 oh and i also mention that here: http://friendshipoverfries.blogspot.com/2013/01/creamy-luscious-leche-flan.html

    Like

Leave a Reply

