patko: philippine-style sweet crepes with coconut filling

I finally found the time to make patko this morning. Can’t remember if you’re familiar with these treats – slightly sweet crepes made from cassava flour and stuffed with freshly grated mature coconut. these are among my favorite merienda . Used to buy them almost every afternoon from one of the food stalls in front of “Central,” the elementary school where my mom taught. I got a discount; the owner is one of my aunts’ mother-in-law.

I guess you can still make them using regular flour, but the cassava flour gives them that chewiness that’s part of their charm. I didn’t have freshly grated coconut (obviously!) but the frozen version was fine. I added sugar to the batter, but other folks add (brown) sugar to the coconut filling. Your call. Here’s the recipe i used; just replace the regular flour with cassava.

While rummaging in my cupboard, I found a small bottle of coco jam that I’d forgotten I had. I looked at the coco jam and then the crepes and thought, “sweet!” The result was almost as good as the crepes I enjoyed in paris oh so many years ago (at one of the restaurants near the Champs-Elysees).

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Betis Boy says:

    i hope you found some dayap (philippine lime). patko sure isn't patko without the lime rind. and i'm assuming the coconut is frozen. does it freeze well (doesn't it become oily-tasting?). the crepe-coco jam idea was a brilliant one! šŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Guagua Girl says:

    Oh yes, there was definitely dayap (or dalayap) in these crepes. The coconut was indeed frozen, but it's still pretty fresh. I'm sure a couple more weeks and you'll start getting the oily taste, though. Not really sure how long coconut would keep, even frozen.

    Like

Leave a Reply

