remembering the sweet smell of home

one night last week, i suddenly found myself looking up from my work and looking around the office after I caught a whiff of a familiar scent. i thought i smelled sampaguita (or jasmine). I found myself instantly transported back to the Philippines, specifically to my apu’s property in kilo, where rows upon rows of sampaguita bushes once grew on land next to the house.

alas, there were no sampaguitas in the office. what i discovered instead is another plant, a vine from what I understand, that produces flowers of a similar scent: the honeysuckle. the scent, upon closer inspection (meaning i buried my nose in the blooms), seems sweeter than that of the sampaguita. also it doesn’t have that hint of spice, that i’ve associated with sampaguita. i’m gonna try and see if i can get this vine and grow it on my porch 🙂

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Betis Boy says:

    oh, that's how honeysuckles look like. here at home, our nights are scented by the flowers of the “bawe-bawe” plants that are planted near our fence. they are quite a sight too. i'll do a post on them soon. we also bought a rosal plant and an ylang-ylang tree. but none have yet to flower. you know what the sweetest-smelling philippine flower is for me? kamia, then ylang-ylang, then sampaguita.

    Like

  2. Guagua Girl says:

    i looked up bawe-bawe and came across a wikipedia entry in capampangan! HA HA HA! apparently, it's chinese honeysuckle 🙂 so please do post photos

    Like

Leave a Reply

