Tortang kamote

What wonder does this bun hold? Can something so simple transport you back decades ago? To the comforting memory of someone you loved? Yes and yes, and the person was my Lola Nene. And we’re talking about tortang kamote (stewed sweet potato)
35010-picture001
Granted that it looks disgusting, this may be my most favorite of all sandwich spreads. How could cubed sweet potato cooked in anato juice and salt be delicious? I don’t know. All i know is that when we were kids, my lola cooked this every day to be sold to the woodcraft workers (my dad’s family’s business) who went to our place for merienda (snack). Usually she’d serve this, sometimes banana cue, with coffee or soda.
I got so excited when I saw this being sold this morning in a neighborhood store. I ate one right there and then, out in the sun, on the dusty provincial street, with a cold bottle of Coke in my hand, thinking of my lola.
2 Comments Add yours

  1. Guagua Girl says:

    I have to admit, I've never heard of this snack at all. A bit too much carbo in that sandwich, eh? Kamote AND bread?!?! At first, I thought maybe it was some sort of marmalade … sweet, you know. But you said it's salty. My brain can't process 😛

    Like

  2. Betis Boy says:

    i tell you it's good. it's like eating torta with bread, only the torta is vegetarian 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

