Canvas in the sky

Because of the life that I lead … OK, that sounds waaaaay too dramatic (and a tad sinister, plus it’s the beginning of a line from “Arrow”). Let me start over. Because of my schedule, I don’t get to see many sunrises — or sunsets, for that matter. By the time I wake up, the sun is directly overhead. And my spot in the newsroom doesn’t really offer much of a view, so I can’t see Apollo’s descent.

But this jury duty in Riverhead has turned my schedule around. I’m almost … normal. I head to “work” around 9 a.m. and head home by 5 p.m. It’s a long drive back but I look forward to it every day. Why? Because of sunsets like these.

Even mornings have become interesting. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a sky like this one … EVER! Doesn’t it look like an ermine cloak was pulled over part of it? One of our friends said he thought there were snow-capped mountains in the background.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Betis Boy says:

    when i was doing the long daily commute from pampanga to makati, it was those sunrises (if i weren't sleeping on the bus) and the sunsets in the north expressway that kept me sane, even kept me alive. your mind is reeling with all the work and stress and stuff, and then you stare out the window and see reds and oranges and yellows, sometimes purple, in the sky (and being on the viaduct on the expressway gives you quite a vantage point) and suddenly all is okay.

    Like

Leave a Reply

