Moussaka

Moussaka (or, as Betis Boy called it, eggplant lasagna) is one of my favorite dishes in the world. I can’t remember who exactly introduced me to it but I’ve a feeling my first taste was at the annual Greek Festival in Poughkeepsie, where my co-workers and I were regular attendees.

So, naturally, it was one of the first things I ordered when I was in Greece late last year. I had the moussaka pictured above (or is it to the left?) at a taverna in Fira, on the island of Santorini. Simple, unassuming restaurant, whose servers certainly subscribed to the idea of a relaxed island life *grin* It’s the best moussaka I’ve ever tasted. No, seriously. It’s the same as the moussaka I’ve had in New York — a thin layer of eggplant and potatoes sautéed in olive oil at the bottom, followed by a hearty layer of ground lamb cooked in spices, and topped with rich béchamel sauce — but there was something different about the flavors, they were more distinct. I couldn’t help but moan after the first bite, it was heaven on a fork.

IMG_5129

I ordered moussaka again when we got to Athens, from a place called God’s Restaurant (in that long stretch of shops and eateries near the Acropolis). Ateng E and I were intrigued because it had been featured on the Food Network. And no wonder, the food was excellent, the servers personable, the price affordable. The moussaka was lovely, but I’m still partial to the one at the taverna. Maybe because it was my first real Greek moussaka? Anyway, writing about this has made me hungry for moussaka, so I think I’m going to check what time my local Greek restaurant starts deliveries.

Leave a Reply

