Hill Country BBQ: It’s all about the meat

Probably shouldn’t be posting this considering Lent has started. But this has been marinating in the drafts folder for way too long (see what I did there?). Anyway, Hill Country BBQ is the cousin of Hill Country Chicken, which I had posted about here (damn, reading that post again got me teary).

IMG_3027

Hill Country BBQ is apparently an homage to Texas-style barbecue. I’ve never been to the Lone Star State so I’m not sure exactly what it means other than it’s supposed to be really amazing. Although the restaurant also offers chicken, meat dominates the menu: brisket, ribs and sausage. The brisket is one of the best I’ve ever had, flavorful and juicy, and the meat on the ribs is so tender it almost falls off the bone. They are the result of hours of slow cooking using post oak wood (I got that info from the website).

IMG_3030

The place is pretty big but still cozy. You go up to a counter to order your food and it’s served in butcher’s paper, which totally makes sense considering how messy it can get. Think of the butcher’s paper as their version of our banana leaves. There are no plates, everybody just sort of claims a corner of the paper. Then there’s a sides station where you basically point to what you want and they scoop it in cups: we got corn pudding, mashed potatoes and green bean casserole with Durkee onions.

It has been a while since I’ve eaten there so it’s definitely time to go back, maybe with my parents in tow. I know Dad is an unabashed carnivore like me so I’m sure he’ll enjoy it.

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Betis Boy says:

    That looks really good, although a little too pink for my taste. Trush to tell I don’t like western barbecue sauce. My tastebuds are more accustomed to the marinade of soy sauce, garlic, soda (Coke or Sprite), pineapple juice, pepper corn, chili bits, and calamansi juice…and banana catsup. 🙂 I don’t mind trying that out though 🙂

    Like

    1. Guagua Girl says:

      You’re thinking pink = raw. It’s not, not in this case. The pink meat is because it was cooked slow and low. I do prefer our barbecue sauce, too. In fact, you just gave me an idea for a barbecue dish!

      Like

Leave a Reply

