Adobong dilaw

I found some fresh turmeric (luyang dilaw) and since they are said to be good for one’s health I thought I’d make myself some adobong dilaw — the classic vinegared chicken stew, this time using turmeric and garlic. Instead of soy sauce, I used patis (fish sauce) as the salting ingredient. I then added some vinegar and pineapple tidbits for souring the dish, plus some peppercorns for spice.  The pineapple added a bit of sweetness too.

It turned out really good. Something of a cross between piniyahang manok (chicken pineapple stew) and the classic chicken adobo and all the medley of flavors in between. The turmeric provided a hint of ginger.

Leave a Reply

