Filipino-style slow cooker spare ribs

Finally!!! I did it!!! I bought a slow cooker!!!

Can you tell from my overenthusiastic use of exclamation points how excited I am? I’ve been thinking about getting a slow cooker for months now. But I hesitated because, well, do I really need another appliance crowding my tiny kitchen? How much use would I even get out of it?

IMG_5955

But the other day I saw Target had the style I wanted on sale and I just took the plunge, bought it, took it home and promptly started reviewing the recipes I’d collected. I saw one for slow cooker spare ribs, which essentially was just dumping store-bought barbecue sauce on a pile of ribs and cooking for 5 hours. I thought I could do better using the marinade for classic Filipino barbecue:

INGREDIENTS

  • 3 pounds of spare ribs
  • 1 small head of garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp ground pepper
  • 3/4 cup soy sauce (start with this and then add to taste)
  • 4 tbsp lemon juice (again, start with this and add more if you want a sharper flavor)
  • 5 tbsp Worcestershire sauce (better known as Lea & Perrins back home)
  • chili peppers
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup Sprite or 7-Up
  • 1 tbsp rice flour (don’t add it all at once, just enough to thicken the sauce)

Mix everything and pour over spare ribs. Toss and then set aside in the refrigerator for a couple of days to let the marinade do its work (toss a couple more times just to make sure all the ribs get coated). Place in the slow cooker and set it to high. Cook for 5 hours. Check to make sure the meat is tender, it should be almost falling off the bone. Take out the meat. Strain the sauce, then simmer. Add a little bit of rice flour to thicken it and pour over cooked ribs.

IMG_5959

One Comment Add yours

  1. Betis Boy says:

    Those ribs look so delicious! And “dry” is not a word to describe them even just by looking at them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

