Pulled pork sandwich

Sounds like we both had sandwiches on our minds lately.

I made slow-cooked pulled pork the other day, after I remembered that I had a chunk of pork shoulder sitting in my freezer (bought it without a definite plan for it). I adapted the recipe from this one here.

IMG_5965

INGREDIENTS

  • 4 pounds pork shoulder
  • 1 cup store-bought barbecue sauce
  • 1 cup chicken broth
  • 1/2 cup apple cider vinegar
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 tbsp chili powder
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 5 cloves of garlic, minced
  • hamburger buns
  • butter for the buns

IMG_5966

Toss everything in the slow cooker. Cover and cook on high for 5 hours (or, if you’re really patient, on low for 10-12 hours). Remove the pork from the slow cooker and shred — I used forks. Return the pork to the slow cooker and stir so it’ll soak in the juice. Meanwhile, butter the buns and toast them. Then spoon a generous helping of the pork and enjoy!

I was actually thinking that the barbecue marinade I made for the spare ribs would work for the pulled pork as well. I might try that one of these days.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Betis Boy says:

    Wow! I won’t have the patience waiting for food to cook for 5 hours, let alone 10! I usually do mine in 10-15 minutes like Jamie Oliver 🙂

    Like

    1. Guagua Girl says:

      LOL! I love that the slow cooker method pretty much means you put everything in the pot and then leave it alone. BTW, I never leave the house when I’m using the slow cooker, so I have to “schedule” it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

