Green peas with quail eggs and cashews

“Zippo” eggs. Green peas. People can’t seem to make up their minds on what to call this dish. Both of our families just call it green peas, I believe. The name is a bit of a misnomer considering the many other ingredients it has. I’m calling it green peas with quail eggs and cashews to give people a better idea of what to expect from it.

This is a dish usually served only during feasts or holidays in the Philippines. You mentioned in your post that it has become “regular fare” for your family, though. Would you believe this is the first time I’ve had this since I’ve moved to the United States? I became curious about the recipe  after chatting with a friend who was wondering what vegetable dishes she could make that includes quail eggs. She’s “mostly” vegetarian so chicken pastel was definitely out of the question. Then I remembered this dish. I looked at your recipe and compared it with a version I found in my aunt’s cookbook. I decided to come up with my own simpler take.

INGREDIENTS

  • 5 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 cups (or more) of green peas
  • 1 large carrot, diced
  • 8 ounce can of water chestnuts, diced
  • 1/2 cup of cashews
  • 15 ounce can quail eggs (contains about 24 already peeled eggs)
  • 1 can Campbell’s cream of mushroom condensed soup (use about half a can)
  • 1/2 cup light cream
  • salt, pepper to taste

Heat oil in a shallow pan. Toss in garlic and saute until golden brown. Add onions and cook until tender. Add the carrots and let them fry a little before adding the cream of mushroom soup and light cream. Stir. You can add water to adjust the consistency of the mixture. Allow it to bubble and then add the water chestnuts, cashews and the green peas. Let simmer until the carrots, green peas, cashews and water chestnuts are cooked. I like my veggies with a bit of crunch so this doesn’t take long, about 5 minutes. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

GreenPeas1

Of course, I’m not vegetarian, so after making the dish for my friend, I set her portion aside and added several chicken hearts I’d cooked separately (basically just sauteed them in garlic and onion and seasoned with salt and pepper). I would have loved chicken liver as well. Alas, there was none at the grocery store when I was there.

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Betis Boy says:

    Are those chicken hearts?

    Like

    1. Guagua Girl says:

      Yes, I said so in the post, LOL!

      Like

Leave a Reply

