Ox tail rendang

I fell in love with the beef rendang after first tasting it in a restaurant in Manhattan called Penang. This Indonesian dish is rich, spicy, aromatic, with a hint of sweetness from the coconut milk. Unfortunately, it’s not something that can be made quickly _ or easily. The spices are slightly difficult to find in my neck of the woods. Here’s the recipe I found that I followed one time. It was delicious, but it was a lot of work.

When I was living upstate, a friend gave me several packets of rendang paste. But it has been a while since I’ve seen those packets available for sale anywhere. Fortunately, when I was a the Asian store in Ronkonkoma looking for quail eggs and water chestnuts recently, I found this!

IMG_5999

So I made rendang in the slow cooker yesterday, using ox tail (because I love the bits of fat). The package contains both paste and coconut milk so all I had to do was add a little bit of water. The dish came out amazing. I probably should have let the gravy or sauce dry up a little bit more but I wanted to pour some over the piping hot white rice. You can bet I’ll be using this mix again.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. bulekitchen says:

    Rendang is the best food ever! I cook Indonesian food from scratch, and it’s so easy to make rendang. I’ll be uploading how to do it on my blog soon. I’ll guarantee it’s better than the pack

    Like

  2. bulekitchen says:

    If you like rendang, you should try making it from scratch! It’s not difficult, I’ll be posting a recipe for it soon.

    Like

    1. Guagua Girl says:

      I’ve made it from scratch. It’s the spices I have difficulty finding where I am. That’s why I go for the packets. But I’d love to try your recipe, so please do share your link. Thanks!

      Like

Leave a Reply

