Rellenong ampalaya

Lately I’ve been learning how to love to eat ampalaya. Previously, I used to hate it. I guess my taste buds have evolved, or my mind is beginning to understand that my body needs to eat the healthier stuff.

This dish is not that healthy because this is stuffed with pork torta (ground pork and shrimps sauteed in tomatoes, sometimes with additional bits of potatoes and carrots), then deep fried.

It is delicious. I wonder if this is uniquely Capampangan.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Guagua Girl says:

    My mom used to make rellenong ampalaya often, but only she and my dad ate the ampalaya. I usually just took the pork filling, leaving the veggie shells.

    Like

  2. Betis Boy says:

    Me, too. Now I appreciate the ampalaya a bit, especially if it’s not too bitter.

    Like

Leave a Reply

