Camaron relleno (stuffed shrimp)

Your post on prawns had me thinking about this recipe I found in an aunt’s homemade cookbook. It featured two things I enjoy very much: shrimp and bacon. This would be an appetizer, although with some rice I’m sure you and I can make a meal out of it, LOL! I love the crunch of the coating and I’ll never say no to a combo of shrimp/bacon/sausage.

Making camaron relleno was actually fairly easy, not as labor intensive as you might imagine. I tweaked the ingredients from the original recipe, just because I was too lazy to go the grocery store. Most of the stuff I already had in my refrigerator and pantry.

IMG_6179

INGREDIENTS

  • 10 pieces jumbo shrimp, preferably uncooked
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • ground pepper
  • 2 sausage links, meat removed from casing
  • 5 strips of bacon, cut in half
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tbsp flour
  • 2 tbsp corn starch
  • 1 cup panko bread crumbs
  • Vegetable oil for deep frying, about a couple of inches deep

IMG_6180

DIRECTIONS

Shell shrimp but keep tail intact. Marinate for about 10 minutes in lemon and pepper. Cut a deep slit in the back to devein and to open it up. Fill the slit with a little less than a tablespoon of the sausage (how much meat you use really depends on how big the shrimp is). Wrap each stuffed shrimp with bacon and secure with a toothpick. Set aside.

Begin heating the oil. In a bowl, whisk egg, flour and cornstarch together. Dip each stuffed shrimp in the mixture, then in bread crumbs and deep fry over medium heat, about 7 minutes on each side (you want the stuffing to be fully cooked). Serve hot with sweet and sour sauce or ketchup.

Note about frying: The oil has to be hot enough so the stuffing will be cooked but not too hot that the coating becomes too brown.

My aunt’s recipe for the stuffing actually called for a mix of ground pork, finely grated carrot, chopped scallions and an egg (salt and pepper to taste, of course). But the sausage meat worked out beautifully for me.

Leave a Reply

