Caramelized sweet potato chips

It was so hot the other day I was reminded of summers in the Philippines, hanging out on the papag (bamboo bed), enjoying snacks like Apu’s kamote cue. She used to sell them — huge chunks of sweet potatoes, fried and coated them with brown sugar and skewered with thin bamboo sticks. I can’t count how many times I’d gone up and down that main thoroughfare, yelling “Manyali na kong kamute (buy these sweet potatoes)!”

IMG_8197

I wanted to try making kamote cue, but I wasn’t a fan of Apu’s big chunks. In fact, I used to just eat the caramelized sugar and leave the “naked” kamote for Mom or Apu, much to their annoyance. I wanted to make a version where I’m not tossing away half of the sweet potatoes. By using a mandolin, I made super thin slices and I think it really helped the sugar-to-kamote ratio. Also, I used Korean sweet potatoes, which were firmer.

IMG_8202

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 medium-size sweet potato
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 2 cups oil for deep frying

DIRECTIONS

Heat up the oil in a deep pan for frying.

Peel and slice the sweet potato crosswise thinly. Place in a bowl and toss with brown sugar. Make sure all the pieces get some sugar.

When the oil is ready, slide in the sweet potato chips one by one. Fry for about 8-10 minutes. Remove from oil and place on a pan lined with parchment paper, making sure pieces are not stuck together until they cool.

 

Leave a Reply

